Fancy something new?

The more I think about this article the more it irks me. I don’t like preaching, I spend many a walk through my town centre glaring at preachers with their smarmy looks of faux humility, pretending to be morally superior whilst shouting at strangers. Now, this isn’t that extreme but it’s still coming across like a sermon, a speech to troops of a half imagined beer war.

When I first read the article I couldn’t help wanting to rally the war cry. Yes, let’s get more people drinking good beer! Except suddenly there’s this schism talked of, suddenly there’s sides. I’m quiet sure having a selection of people afraid of change and another selection campaigning for change isn’t exactly a new thing.

I spend my days trying to get people to try beer. I relish when I get someone one something new and tasty that they’d have never thought of drinking before. There are so many women who are put off the world of cask ale and the world of cask ale isn’t helping. (Read this great post from It Comes In Pints.)

Last year I talked about the “gent” at the Nottingham Beer Festival who told me to “give the girlies the pilsner, that’s what they all like”.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js
For a start that beer was horrible, the only one in my section I couldn’t bring myself to recommend. Plus I love to find a great beer for someone! Especially at a beer festival. Something new, and interesting. However, finding a new beer someone’ll like or for someone who’ll “just have a Becks” because they always do… That’s a far cry from telling someone they should be drinking beer and telling people that we need to bring people to the beer world. That’s just weird! We’re not a cult! We’re not trying to find new members of the beer drinking club. We’re just recommending a drink.

“Wanna try this tasty thing? I think it’s tasty. ”
NOT
“You should be drinking this instead!”

Don’t tell people to go to their local pub. Invite them to come out for a drink with you. There’s a subtle but important difference.

Beer folk, let’s not be preachy, let’s not be creepy. Pint, anyone?

Leave a Reply

