Lincoln Beer Festival 2014

Yet another good year at the Lincoln Beer Festival. I think the rain may have put people off initially but hey… we’re British… we’ll go through hell and high water for a good pint.

Though I really didn’t like the logo initially, the Big Shiny Face looked really good on the glasses. And even better? The glasses looked great with beer inside them.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

So, great glasses, great atmosphere… to the beer!

Myself and John popped between the main bar and the bottle bar and found some great gems. Especially after trying a beer from the main bar that I deemed “vomit-y” and sharing a bottle of Liefmans Cuvée Brut which was… well… *guttural noises*

A couple of highlights from the main bar were Tigertops’ Black Hop (it’s always fun introducing someone to the weirdness that is a Black IPA – John: “I’m confused! I like it but I don’t but I can’t stop drinking it!”) and my favourite: the Hardknott Lux Borealis.

Sharp and hoppy but with gorgeous orange fruitiness, I need this again.

So two 20-somethings, one umbrella, three thunderstorms, two hog roasts, 13 beers and one comment of “this tastes a bit… vomit-y”. All in all an awesome festival experience.

Cheers, Lincoln CAMRA!

Leave a Reply

