Fancy a pint? March 2013

It’s nearly the end of March and tomorrow sees the start of the Hog’s Head Beer Festival at my work so I thought I’d round up some of the beers I’ve tried this month during the first month of this blog.

Ale Old Tom Original
Brewery Robinson’s, Stockport
ABV 8.5%
Style English Strong Ale
Description “Old Tom is dark, rich and warming with a cherry brandy like colour and character. This strong ale has a booming balance of ripe malt, and peppery hops combined with roasted nut and chocolate flavours with a smoky richness. A distinctive deep port wine finish with bitter hops balance complemented by heady, vinous aromas of dark fruit.”
Verdict ★★★☆☆

This ale was all right. It wasn’t bad but the port taste wasn’t entirely to my liking. Though I would try it again. What I really liked about the ale was the design of the bottle, it’s strange but it was so nice to hold what with the stubbiness. Also the design itself was gorgeous, simple and elegant. Plus Old Tom, the brewery’s cat features on the bottle cap, which gives a wonderful history to ale.

Ale Real Blonde
Brewery Pennine Brewery, Yorkshire
ABV 4.0%
Style Golden Blonde
Description “Not your typical blonde! Finely balanced in hops and natural sugars that combine to add a fruity aftertaste!”
Verdict ★☆☆☆☆

No, just no. I don’t understand how this ale won awards. “Not your typical blonde” is right…. I couldn’t fathom what the “fruity aftertaste” was but it wasn’t pleasant. Cheap soap is not how I want my beverages to taste.

Ale Broadside
Brewery Adnam’s, Southwold
ABV 4.7%
Style Ruby ale
Description “Brewed with Pale Ale malt and First Gold hops, Broadside is a dark ruby red beer rich in fruitcake aromas, almonds and conserved fruit.”
Verdict ★★★★☆

Same lovely pub (The Posada, Wolverhampton), but a much nicer beer. So thick, smooth and creamy it held a head beautifully*. Definitely my kind of beer, need to find a bottle supplier.

Ale Dragon Stout
Brewery Desnoes & Geddes, Jamaica
ABV 7.5%
Style Stout
Description “Creamy tones, milky with roasted malt on the nose. Smooth and silky in the mouth. Sweet and full bodied. Milky and very treacly, balanced by hoppy notes. Malty, with warming alcohol in the finish.”
Verdict ★★★★☆

Just the kind of stout I love. Utterly smooth. And weirdly cheap. It was £1.30 for the bottle. I was expecting cheap and questionable (it’s made by the same people as Red Stripe) but I was pleasantly surprised considering the price.

Ale Blue Moon
Brewery Blue Moon Brewing Company, LOCATION
ABV 5.4%
Style American Wheat Beer
Description “You’ll notice a zesty orange fruitiness with a light spicy wheat aroma. The flavor starts crisp and tangy and ends with a coriander and orange spiciness. The Valencia orange peel gives a subtle sweetness to the beer. The oats give the beer a nice creamy body, so it’s not too thin.”
Verdict ★★★★★

I’ve been meaning to try this beer for ages. It has a habit of popping up on Untappd as obviously the app has a large American userbase. Fell in love a bit. Such a gorgeous beer. None of the typical flavours I enjoy but it simply tastes of beer. I know that sounds weird but it tastes like beer should. Or may my beer related vocabulary is having issues.


So hopefully I’ll see you all tomorrow night from behind the bar at the Hog’s Head LocALE Festival.

 

*teehee

Leave a Reply

