Weekend of Beer: The Black Country Beer Festival

Last night myself and my trusty sidekick went to the Black Country Beer Festival at Lye Cricket Club near Stourbridge. Now, we’d never even heard of Lye, but we managed to get lost in it, so that was a good start.

image

image

When we eventually found the Cricket Club we were greeted by a trickle of sound coming from the pavilion and a few drinkers stood outside in the sun, pints in hand and watching the activity surrounding what later was to be the BBQ for the stone-baked pizzas available.

image

Unlike Cafe Metro’s Festival this one was run by CAMRA and so I bounded gleefully up to the table where you paid and flashed my CAMRA card with pride for my free entry. This festival also had delightfully printed glasses especially for the festival (ignore the date!) and I was utterly gutted that I managed to forget mine. Definitely heartbroken about that, it was ready to sit proudly next to my Lincoln Beer Festival glass that I got last year.

image

image

image

To the beers!

Winter Hog Ale, Newman’s Brewery 4.6%

image

A really nice one to start off with. I love my darker ales and… hedgehogs. Hedgehogs are also awesome. Probably not something I’d jump for again if there was something more intriguing on off.

Tin Can Avenger, Kelham Island Brewery 3.8%

This one was a gorgeous find. Brewed by a Sheffield based company especially for February 2013 it’s “infused with Lager and Munich malts” and tasted like a refreshing half way between an ale and a lager.

Basilisk, Sadler’s Ales 4.2%

image

Possibly my favourite of the afternoon, which is pretty good considering Sadler’s sponsors the festival. I’m already a fan of the brewery with their beautiful Mud City Stout (which I made a Steak and Ale pie out of a few weeks back).

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Neap Tide, Teignworthy 3.8%

image

Another gorgeous ale. Very fruity and easy to drink, a great way to round up the festival.

The next Black Country Beer Festival will be the summer innings taking place in the middle of August on a much larger scale complete with marquee, BBQ and live music.

image

And come back here tomorrow for the final installment of my Weekend of Beer. Tonight I head up to Birmingham for a beer tasting at the new Brew Dog pub. Awfully exciting!

Leave a Reply

